Interdisciplinary Modernism Workshop


  • Nell Andrew, Associate Professor, Art History, Lamar Dodd School of Art
  • Susan Rosenbaum, Associate Professor, Department of English

Founding Director

  • Jed Rasula, Helen S. Lanier Distinguished Professor, Department of English


The Interdisciplinary Modernism Workshop research cluster facilitates and formalizes a collaborative and interdisciplinary exchange of ideas. It provides opportunities for faculty, students, and visitors to learn about work-in-progress and ongoing research on campus through rigorous engagement with faculty and student work in the form of discussion, evaluation, and critical feedback. The workshop setting also offers an informal forum for graduate students in the dissertation-writing process to develop supportive ties with their fellow students, faculty mentors, and guest faculty participants. On a larger scale, the cluster aims to encourage collaborative initiatives among faculty from the workshop’s various disciplinary and institutional affiliates, with an eye toward grant development for cross-disciplinary research and the strategic growth of an international profile for Modernism studies at the University of Georgia.

The workshop holds monthly seminar-style meetings in which a faculty member, visiting scholar or advanced graduate student presents work-in-progress, followed by discussion and critical feedback. Participants and presenters from any and all disciplines and areas within the Humanities and Arts are welcome, as well as those interested in modernism from other perspectives such as from the history of Science, Law, or the Social Sciences.



  • Martin Kagel, Professor and Head, Department of Germanic and Slavic Studies
  • Kevin Kelly, Music Librarian, Hugh Hodgson School of Music
  • Nicolás Lucero, Associate Professor, Department of Romance Languages
  • Richard Neupert, Wheatley Professor of the Arts, Department of Theatre and Film Studies
  • Adam Parkes, Professor, Department of English
  • Ed Pavlić, Professor, Department of English
  • Steven Soper, Lecturer, Department of History
  • Aidan Wasley, Associate Professor, Director of British-Irish Studies Program, Department of English
  • Andrew Zawacki, Associate Professor, Director of Creative Writing, Department of English
  • Richard Zimdars, Despy Karlas Professor of Piano, Hugh Hodgson School of Music


  • Department of Comparative Literature
  • Department of English
  • Department of Germanic and Slavic Studies
  • Department of History
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Religion
  • Department of Romance Languages
  • Department of Theatre and Film Studies
  • Hugh Hodgson School of Music
  • Lamar Dodd School of Art
  • Institute for African American Studies
  • African Studies Institute
  • Institute of Native American Studies
  • Institute for Women’s Studies
  • Latin American and Caribbean Studies Institute (LACSI)