National Endowment for the Humanities

Mina Loy
Mina Loy: Navigating the Avant-Garde

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States.

NEH grants typically go to cultural institutions, such as museums, archives, libraries, colleges, universities, public television, and radio stations, and to individual scholars. The grants:

  • strengthen teaching and learning in schools and colleges
  • facilitate research and original scholarship
  • provide opportunities for lifelong learning
  • preserve and provide access to cultural and educational resources
  • strengthen the institutional base of the humanities


The NEH offers grants for both organizations and individuals. See NEH grants and divisions for more details. Contact the Willson Center if you would like to discuss a potential proposal.


Previous UGA/NEH awards

  • Nicholas Allen (Willson Center), NEH: Access Grant, NEH: Common Heritage
  • Lisa Bayer (UGA Press), NEH: Open Book Program
  • Rachel Gabara (Romance Languages), NEH: Fellowship, NEH: Summer Stipend
  • Emily McGinn (Libraries/DIGI), NEH: Institute for Advanced Topics in Digital Humanities
  • Stephen Mihm (History), NEH: Public Scholar Program
  • Scott Nesbit (College of Environment and Design), NEH: Digital Humanities Advancement Grants
  • Susan Rosenbaum (English), NEH: Digital Humanities Advancement Grants
  • Cassia Roth (History), NEH: Fellowship
  • David Saltz (Theatre and Film Studies), NEH: Institutes for College and University Teachers
  • Esra Santesso (English), NEH: Summer Stipends
  • Claudio Saunt (History), NEH: Humanities Collections and Reference Resources
  • Steven Soper (History), NEH: Digital Humanities Advancement Grants
  • Elizabeth Wright (Romance Languages), NEH: Summer Stipend