UGA Humanities Council

UGA Humanities Council logoThe University of Georgia Humanities Council is designed to weave humanities practices into the culture of campus, and to make visible and valuable the diversity of these practices to our learning community.

The Humanities Council is supported by the Office of Research, the Office of the Provost, and the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, with the participation of more than 30 colleges, schools, departments, and units across the university.

The council organizes the university’s Humanities Festival, which takes place March 11-22, 2024.

 

Humanities research adds to our knowledge of the world, as scholars investigate differences between cultures and communities around the world and across time, consider the ways art is made and received, or unveil the undercurrents that have shaped history. Humanities education encourages students to think creatively and critically, to reason, and ask questions. And, as the humanities offer insight into nearly every aspect of life, they have been considered a core element of a well-rounded education since ancient times… Put simply, the humanities help us understand and interpret the human experience, as individuals and societies.
– From the National Humanities Center

 

The humanities comprise those fields of knowledge and learning concerned with human thought, experience, and creativity. By exploring the foundations of aesthetic, ethical, and cultural values and the ways in which they may endure, be challenged, or transformed, humanists help us appreciate and understand what distinguishes us as human beings as well as what unites us… Humanists study the diverse means by which human beings in every age and culture explore, understand, and change their world. The humanities enable us to think about and think through the issues that confront us as global citizens of the twenty-first century.
– From the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

Members

Mark Abbe

Mark Abbe

Area Chair – Art History

abbe@uga.edu

Nicholas Allen

Nicholas Allen

Co-Chair

Director – Willson Center for Humanities and Arts

na@uga.edu

Nora Benedict

Nora Benedict

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Digital Humanities – Romance Languages

nbenedict@uga.edu

Dana Bultman

Dana Bultman

Professor and Head – Department of Romance Languages

dbultman@uga.edu

Emily Gore

Emily Gore

Associate Librarian – UGA Libraries

emily.gore@uga.edu

Shawnya Harris

Shawnya Harris

Thompson Curator of the African Diaspora – Georgia Museum of Art

slharris@uga.edu

LeAnne Howe

LeAnne Howe

Director – Institute of Native American Studies

Katie Ireland

Katie Ireland

Interim Director – Willson Center Digital Humanities Lab, UGA Libraries

katherine.ireland@uga.edu

Martin Kagel

Martin Kagel

Associate Provost – Office of Global Engagement 

mkagel@uga.edu

Jamie Kreiner

Jamie Kreiner

Associate Dean – Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

jkreiner@uga.edu

Jean Martin-Williams

Jean Martin-Williams

Associate Dean – Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

jfmartin@uga.edu

Barbara McCaskill

Barbara McCaskill

Associate Academic Director – Willson Center for Humanities and Arts 

bmccaski@uga.edu

Aaron Meskin

Aaron Meskin

Professor and Head – Department of Philosophy 

aaron.meskin@uga.edu

Akinloye Ojo

Akinloye A Ojo 

Director – African Studies Institute 

akinloye@uga.edu

Marisa Anne Pagnattaro

Marisa Anne Pagnattaro

Vice President for Instruction

pagnatta@uga.edu

Ed Pavlić

Ed Pavlic

Representative, Institute for African American Studies

pavlic@uga.edu

Patricia Richards

Patricia Richards

Director – Institute for Women’s Studies 

plr333@uga.edu

Amy Ross

Amy Ross

Director – Latin American and Caribbean Studies Institute

rossamy@uga.edu

Laura Phillips Sawyer

Laura Phillips Sawyer

Associate Professor – School of Law

lphillipssawyer@uga.edu

Andrea Silletti

Andrea Silletti

Program Specialist – Center for Undergraduate Research Opportunities (CURO)

andreas@uga.edu

Nanette Spina

Nanette Spina

Associate Professor – Department of Religion

spinan@uga.edu

Jeanette Taylor

Jeanette Taylor

Co-Chair

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs 

jeanette.taylor@uga.edu

Mike Terrazas

Michael Terrazas

Director – Research Communications, Office of Research

Michael.Terrazas@uga.edu

Timothy Yang

Timothy Yang

Director, Center for Asian Studies 

timothy.yang@uga.edu