English Professor Susan Rosenbaum earns collaborative scholarship prize from MLA

Susan RosenbaumSusan Rosenbaum, associate professor of English at UGA, has been awarded the 2022 Modern Language Association Prize for Collaborative, Bibliographical, or Archival Scholarship with Suzanne W. Churchill, professor of English at Davidson College, and Linda A. Kinnahan, professor of English at Duquesne University, for their work on the digital scholarly platform Mina Loy: Navigating the Avant-Garde. Rosenbaum, Churchill, and Kinnahan were co-recipients of the award with the authors of the book Data Feminism, published by MIT Press.

From an announcement by the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences:

“The Mina Loy website, co-created by scholars, students, and staff at the University of Georgia, Davidson College (NC), and Duquesne University (Pittsburgh, PA), is the multi-media equivalent of a scholarly book, a status signaled by the fact that we share this year’s MLA prize with Catherine D’Ignazio and Lauren Klein’s influential book Data Feminism (MIT Press),” Rosenbaum said. “Nevertheless, our project moves beyond the material limits of a book to reimagine humanities scholarship as a collaborative, interactive, and public-facing enterprise. Faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students at UGA contributed vital research, writing, and technical design featured on this platform. I’m thrilled that this Digital Humanities project supported by UGA has received national and even international recognition: its success demonstrates the value of innovative, collaborative, public-facing humanities scholarship.”

“On behalf of everyone in our department, I congratulate Susan Rosenbaum on winning this major national prize for her digital humanities scholarship,” said Cody Marrs, professor and head of the department of English. “Mina Loy: Navigating the Avant-Garde is high inventive and impactful work, and the coveted MLA Prize for Collaborative, Bibliographical, or Archival Scholarship represents a  momentous and much-deserved achievement.”

Mina Loy: Navigating the Avant-Garde was supported by a 2017-2019 NEH Digital Humanities Advancement Grant, and previously earned Honorable Mention for the 2020 Garfinkel Prize in Digital Humanities from the American Studies Association. Rosenbaum is co-director of the Interdisciplinary Modernisms Workshop, a Willson Center Research Cluster, with Nell Andrew in Art History and Rielle Navitski in Theater and Film Studies. She was awarded Willson Center Faculty Research Fellowships for 2020-21 and 2013-14.

The MLA award will be formally presented at the association’s annual convention in San Francisco, in January 2023. The members of the selection committee were Brian Boxall (Brigham Young University) and Adrian S. Wisnicki (University of Nebraska, Lincoln), chair.