Research Clusters

The Willson Center Faculty Research Cluster (FRC) program supports groups of faculty who are organized to address large-scale humanities and arts questions in partnership with colleagues from allied departments, colleges, centers, and institutes. The program is designed to build research capacity in the humanities and arts and increase the profile and competitiveness of faculty for grants and support. Faculty Research Clusters are funded by the Office of the Vice President for Research through the University of Georgia Research Foundation.

The Willson CenterWillson Center Research Clusters Research Clusters have been organized around interdisciplinary research initiatives that can serve as bridges between the university and off-campus communities. Some of them have been established for years while others are in the planning stages, but all have been selected for their potential to communicate innovative academic research in the humanities and arts at UGA to the public and peer institutions.

The nine funded research clusters for 2014-15 are:

  • Athens Music Project (Susan Thomas, co-director, associate professor, Hugh Hodgson School of Music and Institute for Women’s Studies; Jean Kidula, co-director, associate professor, Hugh Hodgson School of Music and African Studies Institute)
  • Digital Arts (Jonathan Baillehache, director, Assistant Professor, Department of Romance Languages)
  • Digital Humanities Lab (Stephen Berry, co-director, Amanda and Greg Gregory Professor in the Civil War Era, department of history; Bill Kretzschmar, co-director, Harry and Jane Willson Professor in Humanities, department of English; Claudio Saunt, co-director, Richard B. Russell Professor in American History, department of history)
  • The Global Capitalism Initiative (Allan Kulikoff, director, Professor and Abraham Baldwin Distinguished Professor in the Humanities, Department of History)
  • Ideas for Creative Exploration (ICE) (David Z. Saltz, executive director, associate professor and head, department of theatre and film studies; Mark Callahan, artistic director, senior academic professional, Lamar Dodd School of Art, and Willson Center associate academic director for innovation in the arts)
  • Indigenous Foods & Fibers (Fausto O. Sarmiento, director, Professor, Department of Geography)
  • Interdisciplinary Modernism Workshop (Nell Andrew, co-director, assistant professor, art history, Lamar Dodd School of Art; Susan Rosenbaum, co-director, associate professor, department of English)
  • m.Sens – Studio for Multisensory Information Communication (Juan B. Gutierrez, director, assistant professor, department of mathematics and Institute of Bioinformatics)
  • Neuroimaging, Movie Trailers, and Spectator Cognition (Tianming Liu, co-director; assistant professor, department of computer science; Richard Neupert, Wheatley Professor of the Arts and Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of Theatre and Film Studies; L. Stephen Miller, co-director, professor, department of psychology)